The Locke Family Streetscape
Nova Scotia's 1st Provincially Registered Streetscape
Officially registed on June 30, 1988 the Locke Family Streetscape is Nova Scotia's first Provincially Registered Streetscape. Located in the Town of Lockeport, it includes five historic homes situated at the lower end of South St., overlooking Lockeport Harbour. It is unique in that all five dwellings are affiliated with the Locke family. Indeed, four of the five dwellings were built for the children of merchant Samuel Locke. As well, the well preserved homes of the streetscape represent the three historic eras of Nova Scotia's domestic architecture which includes Colonial, Georgian and Victorian.
Located at the beginning of the Streetscape is a large stone monument which pays tribute to this unique piece of Nova Scotia Heritage. The monument was designed and crafted by Heritage Memorials (Windsor, N.S.) and was erected with the cooperation of the Department of Tourism and Culture, the Town of Lockeport and through private donations.
The Locke Homestead
Built in 1876 for Captain Henry Locke, this Victorian home is well preserved inside as well as outside. In 1892 the dwelling was purchased by a cousin named Churchill Locke who was a merchant in the fishery and West Indies trade. The present owner is a direct descendant of Churchill Locke.
The dwelling is Second Empire in style which is characterized by the mansard roof and the 3-bay symmetrical facade with the projecting frontispiece (front tower)
William Stalker Homestead
This Vernacular style home is the oldest documented building remaining in Lockeport today. Built around 1836 for shipwright William Stalker it is a prime example of domestic architecture from the Colonial era. Note the symmetrical 5-bay facade and the undersized dormers which "break" the eaveline. Originally, there were five dormers which completed the eaveline.
William Stalker was married to Elizabeth, daughter of merchant Samuel Locke.
Jacob Locke Homestead
Built in 1841 for merchant Jacob Locke (son of Samuel Locke), this dwelling is a unique variation of the Regency style of architecture which is rare in Nova Scotia. From the Georgian era, it is one of three such homes documented, all of which are in the Town of Lockeport. There is a "twin" of this house in the streetscape.
There are many features which characterize this style including large first floor windows on the facade, "classical" detail in the exterior woodwork, and the lowpitch roof.
Gurden Bill Homestead
This Vernacular style home was built in 1841 for Blacksmith Gurden Bill who was married to Mary, daughter of merchant Samuel Locke.
The home has many characteristics similar to the William Stalker Homestead such as the symmetrical facade and the undersized dormers (note the different dormer placement in the roof slope).
This home maintains a close to original floor plan which includes a large central fireplace.
John Locke Homestead
This unique Regency style dwelling is a virtual "twin" of the home built for Jacob Locke. It has had a few alterations, including the addition of the enclosed front porch. All alterations, however, have been done in keeping with the style and charm of the home.
The dwelling was built in 1846 for merchant John Locke who was an M.P.P. before confederation and a Senator after 1867. Senator John Locke was the son of merchant Samuel Locke.
Research on the built Heritage of the Ragged Islands area has been ongoing since June, 1986, through the Heritage Inventory Program. This program is sponsored by the Department of Tourism and Culture through grants which subsidizes the employment of a local Heritage Coordinator. This is supervised by the Ragged Islands Historical Society which is extremely active in all aspects of the area's heritage.
Thank you to all those people who made this possible.
Icelandic Memorial Cairn